المشروبات السكرية تجعلنا سمينين. كن حذرا ، ليس بهذه السرعة!

الحلويات

في ذلك اليوم ، في DAP، رددنا الأخبار التي مفادها أن رئيس البلدية في نيويورك قرر وضع حد أقصى لحجم المشروبات السكرية التي تُباع كوسيلة للتحكم في استهلاكها ، وبهذه الطريقة تساهم في الوقاية من السمنة.

في الوقت نفسه ، تم إطلاق حملة فيديو (انظر أعلاه) حول الاستهلاك المفرط للسكر الناجم عن استهلاك المشروبات السكرية بين السكان.

الحملة لها جوانبها الإيجابية والسلبية في رأيي. من ناحية أخرى ، يُشار إلى أن السكر ، أو بالأحرى استهلاكه المفرط حتى 16 كيسًا يوميًا ، قد يسبب مشاكل صحية تتعلق بمرض السكري والسمنة. لكن من ناحية أخرى ، فإن الحملة كعادتها تعاقب المواطنين بمناشدة إرادتهم أو عدم وجودها للتوقف عن استهلاك هذه المنتجات.

النقطة المهمة هي أن الأمور ، كالعادة ، ليست دائمًا بهذه البساطة

هل سيكون التدبير فعالا؟

من المحتمل أن يكون لتدبير منع بيع "أحجام كبيرة" من المشروبات الغازية تأثيرات محدودة. لماذا ا؟ حسنًا ، لأنه بنفس الطريقة التي يبتلع بها الشخص المدمن على النيكوتين نفس الكمية من النيكوتين حتى لو كان يدخن الضوء ، فإن الشخص المدمن على المشروبات الغازية (كما يطلق عليه هناك) يميل إلى الحفاظ على استهلاكه لهذه المشروبات. إذا لم يستطع طلب كوكاكولا أكبر ، فسيطلب اثنين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ما الذي يمنع سلاسل المطاعم من إعطاء "شريط مفتوح" أو "إعادة تعبئة مجانية" في قوائمها كما يفعل البعض بالفعل؟

في الاستخدامات، وهو أمر يحدث بالتأكيد في جميع أنحاء العالم الغربي ، حيث كان استهلاك السكر يزداد تدريجياً بمرور الوقت. اتجاه يمكن رؤيته بوضوح في الرسم البياني التالي:

بمعنى آخر ، يتزايد استهلاك السكر بمرور الوقت ولم يتم ربطه دائمًا بالمشروبات السكرية.

استهلاك السكر في المجموعات السكانية الأخرى

من وجهة نظر تطورية ، يعتبر استهلاك السكر تطورًا حديثًا جدًا في تاريخنا. في الواقع ، لم يتزايد استهلاك السكر في العالم إلا بعد استعمار أوروبا للقارة الأمريكية. في ذلك الوقت انتشرت زراعة قصب السكر في جميع أنحاء العالم وعندما أصبح جزءًا من نظامنا الغذائي بشكل منتظم.

هل توجد أنظمة غذائية قديمة تستهلك الكثير من السكر؟ هل هم بدينين؟ الشيء المضحك هو أن هناك. يستهلك كل من هادزا في تنزانيا وكونا بنما كمية لا بأس بها من السكر في وجباتهم الغذائية. بشكل أساسي ، على شكل فاكهة أو عسل ، ولكن الأمر الأكثر إثارة للفضول هو أن كونا تستهلك أيضًا الكثير من السكر من المشروبات السكرية التي يحصلون عليها في الأسواق المحلية. يحصلون على حوالي 80 غرامًا في اليوم منها 40 غرامًا من هذه المشروبات. هل هم بدينين؟ لا.

بمعنى آخر ، لا يمكن عزل استهلاك السكر بحد ذاته ، حتى لو تم تناوله في المشروبات السكرية ، عن العديد من العوامل الأخرى في نمط حياتنا. في كونا ، يلعب أسلوب حياتهم بالتأكيد دورًا أساسيًا في حقيقة أن استهلاك السكر الإضافي لا يسبب لهم مشاكل كبيرة. ومع ذلك ، فإن نفس الاستهلاك لدى شخص من العالم الغربي ، له بالتأكيد تأثيرات مختلفة جدًا.

واحدة من مشاكل السكر أنها خالية من السعرات الحرارية. أنا أشير إلى السكر الأبيض المكرر وهو سكروز نقي. بصرف النظر عن هذا ، فهو لا يوفر أي مغذيات ، وفي التغذية الصحية ، أهم شيء هو اتباع نظام غذائي غني بالعناصر الغذائية.

الحقيقة هي أنه في الوقت الحاضر ، بالإضافة إلى المشروبات السكرية ، كما استنكرها جيمي أوليفر بالفعل ، يوجد السكر في كل شيء تقريبًا نستهلكه ، والشوكولاتة والعصائر والحليب والصلصات ... وأسوأ ما في الأمر أننا لا ندرك الكمية الإجمالية التي نأكلها. ما يضاف إلى هذه المشروبات اللذيذة يجعلنا نستهلك أكثر بكثير مما هو مرغوب فيه. يجب أن يضاف إلى ذلك أن الكثير منا يقضي أكثر من 8 ساعات في اليوم جالسًا في وظائفنا. شيء من المؤكد أن السكان الآخرين لا يفعلونه.

تنظيم محتوى السكر في الطعام

معاقبة المستهلك دون الوصول إلى الصناعات الغذائية لا يبدو عادلاً بالنسبة لي. من الواضح أن الأول أسهل ، لأن جعل الشركات تغير الصيغ لتقليل محتوى السكر في مركباتها من شأنه أن يهاجم العمل ، وتعلم الشركات أن هذا سيؤثر أيضًا على "الرغبة" في منتجاتها. كلما زاد استهلاكك كان ذلك أفضل ، والشيء الذي يؤثر على هذه الرغبة يعرض فوائدها للخطر. ناهيك عن الضغط الذي يمكن أن يمارسوه على السياسيين والمؤسسات من خلال جماعات الضغط.

في الواقع ، إذا كنا نريد حقًا وضع أيدينا على السكر ، فيجب أن نفكر في كيفية تقليل استخدامه في صناعة الأغذية بشكل عام. المستهلكون ، بمجرد صنعهم من نكهة واحدة إلى كمية واحدة ، بالكاد يغيرون عاداتهم من خلال الإعلانات التلفزيونية أو القيود الاصطناعية على الأحجام المتاحة. كما يقولون ، "غُشوا بعد القانون" وسيجد كل من المتاجر والمستهلكين طريقة لمواصلة استهلاك كميات السكر اليومية التي اعتادوا عليها.

ولكن أيضًا ، لا يسعنا إلا أن ننسى أن هناك العديد من العوامل الأخرى التي تؤثر على وجباتنا الغذائية. يلعب السكر دورًا ، ولكن ليس فقط لأنه يحتوي على سعرات حرارية فارغة أو لأنه يستهلك كثيرًا ، ولكن لأن وجوده في الطعام يمكن أن يؤثر على الآليات العصبية للإشباع المتعلقة بالطعام. بمجرد تشغيل هذه الآليات ، يمكن أن تجعلنا نأكل أكثر مما ينبغي حقًا.

كما ترى ، الأمر ليس بالأمر السهل ، وبالتالي ، لا يمكن أن تكون الإجراءات مبسطة أبدًا.

الصورة عبر | مصدر القلب الكامل

  • موقع التواصل الاجتماعي الفيسبوك
  • تويتر
  • Flipboard
  • البريد الإلكتروني
علامات:  صالة عرض وصفات دي الوجبات الخفيفة حضاره 

مقالات مثيرة للاهتمام

add
close

Sugary drinks make us fat. Be careful, not so fast!

Desserts

The other day, in DAP, we echoed the news that in New York, the mayor has decided to put a cap on the size of sugary drinks that are sold as a method to control their consumption, and in this way contribute to the prevention of obesity.

At the same time, a video campaign (see above) has been launched on the excessive consumption of sugar caused by the consumption of sugary drinks among the population.

The campaign has its positive and negative parts in my opinion. On the one hand, it is pointed out that sugar, or rather, its excessive consumption of up to 16 sachets a day, may be causing health problems related to diabetes and obesity. But on the other hand, the campaign, as usual, penalizes citizens by appealing to their willpower or lack thereof, to stop consuming these products.

The point is that, as usual, things are not always so simple

Will the measure be effective?

The measure to prevent the sale of “large sizes” of soft drinks is likely to have limited effects. Why? Well, because in the same way that a person addicted to nicotine, ingests the same amount of nicotine even if they smoke light, a person addicted to sodas (as they are called there) will tend to maintain their consumption of these drinks. If he can't order a larger Coke, he will order two. In addition, what prevents restaurant chains from giving "open bar" or "free refill" on their menus as some already do?

In USES, and it is something that surely happens throughout the western world, for a long time the consumption of sugar has been gradually increasing over time. A trend that can be clearly seen in the following graph:

In other words, sugar consumption has been increasing over time and has not always been associated with sugary drinks.

Sugar consumption in other populations

From an evolutionary point of view, consuming sugar is a very very recent novelty in our history. In fact, sugar consumption did not become massive in the world until after the colonization of the American continent by Europe. It was then that the cultivation of sugar cane spread throughout the world and when it became part of our diet on a regular basis.

Are there ancient diets that consume so much sugar? Are they obese? The funny thing is that there are. Both the Hadza of Tanzania and the Kuna of Panama consume quite a lot of sugar in their diets. Mainly, in the form of fruit or honey, but what is more curious is that the Kuna also consume a lot of sugar from sugary drinks that they get in local markets. They get to take about 80gr / day of which 40gr come from these drinks. Are they obese? No.

In other words, the consumption of sugar per se, even if it is ingested in sugary drinks, cannot be isolated from many other factors in our lifestyle. In the Kuna, their lifestyle sure plays a fundamental role in the fact that this extra sugar consumption does not cause them major problems. However, the same consumption in a person from the western world, surely has very different effects.

One of the problems with sugar is that they are empty calories. I am referring to refined white sugar which is pure sucrose. Apart from this, it provides zero nutrients, and in healthy nutrition, the most important thing is a diet rich in nutrients.

The reality is that nowadays, in addition to sugary drinks, as Jaimie Oliver already denounced, sugar is present in almost everything we consume, chocolate, juices, milk, sauces ... And the worst thing is that we are not aware of the total amount we eat. What, added to these delicious drinks, makes us consume much more than would be desirable. To this must be added that many of us spend more than 8 hours a day sitting at our jobs. Something that surely other populations do not do.

Regulate the sugar content in food

Penalizing the consumer, without reaching out to the food industries does not seem fair to me. Obviously, the former is easier, because to make companies change the formulas to reduce the sugar content in their compounds would be attacking the business, and the companies know that this would also affect the "desirability" of their products. The more you consume the better, and something that affects this desire jeopardizes its benefits. Not to mention, the pressure they can exert on politicians and institutions through lobbies.

Actually, if we really want to get our hands on sugar, we should think about how to reduce its use within the food industry in general. Consumers, once made from one flavor to one quantity, are hardly going to change their habits through television commercials or artificial limitations on available sizes. As they say, "after the law, cheated" and both stores and consumers will find a way to continue consuming their daily amount of sugar to which they are accustomed.

But also, we cannot help but forget that there are many other factors that influence our diets. Sugar plays a role, but not only because they are empty calories or because they are consumed a lot, but because its presence in food can influence the neural mechanisms of gratification related to food. These mechanisms, once triggered, can make us eat more than we really should.

As you can see, it is not a simple matter, and therefore, the measures can never be simplistic.

Image via | Whole Heart Source

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flipboard
  • E-mail
Tags:  Selection Recipes Desserts 

Interesting Articles

add